top of page
  • Writer's pictureKW

How do you pay your "taxes"?

Today's Daily Stoic reminds us to be glad to pay our taxes. Monetary and otherwise.


How many of you just rolled your eyes? That's ok, I'm kinda there with ya. I can guarantee you that every year I've complained about paying my financial taxes and relished every penny I've gotten in return.


But I will also say my complaints go as far as a few grumbles here and there, then dissipate after tax season. Because I know that with every check, my taxes really are going places. Sure, they are probably misused in some areas, but they're most certainly being put to good use with certain programs I may not even be aware I'm benefiting from.


No, taxes are not fun to pay. But they aren't something to disdain either.


The authors talk not only of taxes to our government, but also of metaphorical taxes: "Everything we do has a toll attached to it. Waiting around is a tax on traveling. Rumors and gossip are the taxes that come from acquiring a public persona. Disagreements and occasional frustration are taxes placed on even the happiest of relationships..." and the list goes on.


What are some taxes you complain about in your daily life? What are some taxes you are thankful for or accept as a price to pay for the good parts of life?


For me, I think of the work I do teaching kids. There is no greater joy than seeing the lightbulb in a student's eyes go off and watching the joy they feel from finding out hard work really does pay off. But it's tough to try and find a way to teach every kid so they each have the best chance to learn. I get frustrated and upset. I get impatient. Why can't they just be confident? Why can't they just listen? Why don't they just sit in class and accept that math has more abstract meaning instead of complaining it has no use in the real world?


I usually go down two roads with this: 1) I get frustrated and impatient with my kid so eventually they stop learning, then go talk to a teacher for advice to put me on the right track, or 2) I take a beat, gain some perspective, readjust, and the kid keeps learning.


Most of the time, (2) happens on a great day. A day when I'm feeling grateful, alert, hopeful, and loved. (1) usually happens when I'm not trying hard enough or trying too hard.

What I forget is that this frustration, this need to adjust, is just my tax to pay for feeling joyous when my student finally learns something valuable.


My favorite part of today's message was when the authors write "You think you're so special? People have been complaining about their taxes for thousands of years, and now they're dead. Get over it." It makes me laugh and it makes me raise my eyebrows. Absolutely! Remember - what do you want to have left at the end? A crate full of anger and resentment? Or love and joy by your side?


It is hard to listen to the second voice in your head. The first one complains about the tax. The second one reminds you about all the good it's providing. It takes practice to let the second voice go first. The tax on practice will be frustration. But hey, won't it be worth it?


Pay your tax and "enjoy the fruits of what you get to keep" (Daily Stoic).

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Character says it all

It's now May. Ryan Holiday switches the theme from "The Discipline of Perception", which was for months January through April, to "The Discipline of Action". April's focus was "Unbiased Thought". May'

"The highest power is no power"

Ryan Holiday talks to us today through Seneca's voice, where he quotes: "'Tantalus: The highest power is -- Thyestes: No power, if you desire nothing." -Seneca, Thyestes, 440 Seneca means to say that

Training Exercises

The Daily Stoic asks us today to reframe our mindset. Don't see your or others' actions as reflections on anything more than training in life. "When you catch an elbow or an unfair blow today, shake o

bottom of page