top of page
  • Writer's pictureKW

Dublin: People Move People

May 9, 2019:

Six months ago I wrote this blog post in a cafe on a rainy/sunny day (it's never just one or the other) in Dublin. But I never posted it. Maybe I felt like it was never finished, or maybe I just forgot.


Today I am sitting again in another coffee shop. It would be really easy to lie and say it was the same coffee shop, to get you hooked on the serendipity, but that's just not how I do things. No, this time it's a cafe called Er Buchetto, where I'm having, quite possibly, the best americano I've ever tasted.


Sipping on my americano, I opened my blog archives to see the number "4" listed next to "Drafts" and just had to see what I'd passed on. This draft seemed all too relevant and perfect as I found myself sitting in yet another cafe in Dublin...


------


November 20, 2018:

Where did 45 euros take me this week? Dublin. (Scroll to the bottom to get the detes on how exactly I got there by using the most amazing app called Skyscanner (not an ad)).


Cloudy skies, green pastures, and wonderful people. Just a short list of the sights for this city.


But as I said before, sharing sights and experiences with people is much more fulfilling for me than simply enjoying the experiences themselves. Yes, the nature here is beautiful. Yes, the architecture is awesome. But, connecting and sharing with people is really what makes me happy.


And that is exactly what happened here in Dublin.


Two cool things happened while I was here:


First, I had dinner with Potts and her friends.


Audrey Potts, whom I played with at Princeton, now studies at the Royal College of Surgeons in Dublin (WHOA). So I popped in to visit her! She took me to dinner after school and I met four of her closer friends there. She is very lucky - these people are awesome. They all work their tails off because they love what they do and they know it's meaningful. That's amazing, isn't it? That's the feeling I think everyone should strive for when looking for their purpose.


A friend, Potts, and I stayed out for a pint, and I had my first pint of Dublin Guinness. I would recommend ten out of ten. World of difference compared to the Guinness offered back home (probably because it's Nitro brewed...dangerous [I found out later that the pints back home are also Nitro brewed...so I can only chalk up the difference to "Dublin"]).


But with pints comes more chats. I got to learn more about her friend's life and how he got to where he is now at school. I learned more about how Potts is doing here and how they all met as friends. I even shared my own experiences, and learned I had a lot in common with them, even though they are about to be big, hot shot doctors.


Second, barista chats.


I chatted with a barista at this small shop Sun Bear Gelato near St. Stephen's Green.


How did this ball get rolling? I owe it all to food and my unwavering ability to babble.


I saw their sign as I was walking toward the train station because I meant to take the train to a nearby town, Bray, to do a hike. This sign read "Morning Fairtrade: Coffee and Donut, 4.80 euro".


Hook, line, and sinker.


Coffee and donut at Sun Bear Gelato.

I actually intended to stop at the coffee shop right next to it, but the sign steered me inside this one. I sampled a couple donuts and started a convo with the woman at the counter. She was guarded behind mounds of gelato (which I also sampled - the Irish creme is to die for). I drew her in with my [I made a note here to find a word for "craziness and embarrassment". I think that says it all].


While my intention was to grab a coffee and donut to go, I sat down and began chatting with her just as I started this blog post. We talked about school and how she wants to study pharmaceuticals. We talked about how she is feeling living in Dublin after moving from Brazil. And we talked about interviews she just had and how they went.


I meant to leave and enjoy the sights, but I was sharing a great moment with someone else instead. After chatting for a while, I decided to stick around in town and meet Potts and her friends for lunch, then head to Bray later.


This is by far my favorite part about traveling.


I have the unique opportunity to meet random folks who all have their own story and all have something to say. They steer me in different directions in life and push me towards a different future. And hopefully I do the same for them.


That is the beauty in life. Everyone who walks into yours is important because they make you "you".


Thank them for that.


------------


Update, May 9, 2019:

I noted at the end how I was going to travel to Bray later. I did. And I had an incredible experience. With a funny little twist.


My mission was to hike Bray Head and then walk the cliff from Bray to Greystones (the neighboring town). It was pouring rain in Bray, right on the coast. And the gusting wind didn't help.

Evidence of the questionable conditions and my immense pride at the top of Bray Head.

Walking toward Bray Head, I almost turned back to the train three times. Well, I actually did, but I turned back around to face the head each time. I hiked to the top and it was such a rewarding experience. I was the only one headed up there (what a fool!). On my walk down, I was on an incredible high, so proud of myself. I was going to treat myself to some delicious chowder and a coffee while I wrote some more. However, as I sat down to rest in the coffee shop, I pulled out my laptop to see hefty water damage. *Heavy sigh*. Such a classic mistake. But now I know to never bring electronics on a blisteringly rainy day unless they're completely protected. I love learning the hard way.




Another thing I thought was funny, looking back on this post, was my mention of Potts' friends. Because as it turned out, that friend I mentioned in this post is now my boyfriend. I guess he made quite the impression.


Life works in mysterious ways, good and bad...enjoy that part as much as you can.


---------


November 20, 2018:

And as promised...the detes on Skyscanner:


SKYSCANNER

I recently discovered (that's a selfish way of saying it - two people told me about it) a travel search engine that, in my opinion, surpasses all others. You might use Expedia, Kayak, or Google Flights, but I now use Skyscanner.


Have you ever wanted to travel and were open to just about anywhere, but were tired of having to search through every airport and destination to find the cheapest option? This takes ALL the work out of that. I'm not kidding, it is like my soulmate. And it has found me deals on freaking WHEEEEEELS.


When I found out I didn't have to start work until the middle of November, I realized I had 3 days to go anywhere. One last trip (how many times have I said that??). So I opened Skyscanner app, plugged in Munich as my departing airport, and then searched "Everywhere". Skyscanner did its fancy magic and popped out all of the top destinations, sorted by cheapest price.


What were the two best places to go? Dublin and Palma (capital city of the island Mallorca in Spain).


Where have I always wanted to go? Ireland! So thank you, Skyscanner.


[Thank you, indeed.]

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page